Pacific Fishery Management Council (PFMC)

Document Details:

Title: Pacific Fishery Management Council (PFMC)
Category: Website
External URL:
Updated Date: 08.01.2017
Author(s)/Source(s): PFMC
Publication Date: 2017
Focal Topic: Salmon, Steelhead/Rainbow Trout, Other threatened fishes, Suckers
Location: United States

The Pacific Fishery Management Council is one of eight regional fishery management councils established by the Magnuson Fishery Conservation and Management Act of 1976.

With jurisdiction over the 317,690 square mile exclusive economic zone off Washington, Oregon and California, the Council manages fisheries for about 119 species of salmon, groundfish, coastal pelagic species (sardines, anchovies, and mackerel), and highly migratory species (tunas, sharks, and swordfish). The Council is also active in international fishery management organizations that manage fish stocks that migrate through the Council’s area of jurisdiction, including the International Pacific Halibut Commission (for Pacific halibut), the Western and Central Pacific Fisheries Commission (for albacore tuna and other highly migratory species), and the Inter-American Tropical Tuna Commission (for yellowfin tuna and other high migratory species).

Keyword Tags:
Fisheries, Conservation